cock-a-doodle endeavor…

So I’ve met someone…a local farmer named Paul. He calls me “Aims” and wants to meet me downtown every week! Don’t worry, this newcomer will in no way jeopardize my marriage. In fact, I think his presence in my life will greatly enhance my relationship.

You see, he wants to deliver freshly butchered chickens to my doorstep, with farm eggs too! Imagine my husband’s delight when he comes home to roasted chicken and potatoes. His adoration when his vegetarian wife, donning an apron, spoon feeds him Chicken Paprikash. I’ll dab a little chicken gravy behind my ears in lieu of perfume to set the mood. I think I’ve found a way to make Mark love me even more than he already does!

But seriously, I’ve taken the first step. I’ve made contact. Paul, the chicken farmer, is bringing me my first fresh chicken. He butchers around 100 free range fowl per week and then delivers them to existing customers. He offers a 15 chicken commitment, similar to a CSA (community supported agriculture). If he has the extra inventory, he will gladly arrange to meet you for a one time on demand delivery. He told me flat out that “If you don’t like the taste of my chickens, I don’t want you to have them.” Well ok then. Convert me!

I’m really excited about this prospect. I like the idea of supporting a local farmer. I love the idea of having fresh, free range, unprocessed chicken to cook for others and possibly even eat myself. Any which way, my culinary repertoire is going to expand in a way that will very much please my meat eating husband and future dinner guests. No longer will I need to subject my friends to the possibility of baked tofu or lentil loaf. I feel like chicken tonight, chicken tonight!

Leave a Reply

