chicken soup for the soul…


Have you ever seen a grown man swim around in a bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup? I can now say that I have. Last night I witnessed a certain Cirque de Soleil type maneuver involving my husband and a huge bowl of fresh soup. Had I known such a simple dish could delight him in that way, I would have attempted to make it long ago.

I love to make soup. Its one of my favorite things to create. I rarely follow a recipe and usually just use the basic ingredients as a guide. Roasted peppers, tomatoes and garlic garnished with a little basil effortlessly come together into a flavorful soup. Sauteed mushrooms and onions simmered with lentils make a more substantial tasty stew. My husband Mark always eats my soupy concoctions but notes that they lack soul, by which he means meat. Every once in awhile, I’ll throw him a bone (pun completely intended) and put pork into his very own pot of green chili, or add chicken broth to his portion of a vegetable soup.

Yesterday he took the leftover roasted chicken with vegetables and created a hearty homemade chicken soup. He anxiously awaited my arrival home for a shared bowl. He watched me, giddily, as I took my first bite. Again, I expected it to taste more greasy or chicken-y or “bad” having avoided chicken and its broth for so many years. But it was good. It was really good! I still mostly navigated around the carved pieces of meat, but I did eat the broth soaked noodles and vegetables. My husband makes a damn good chicken noodle soup from scratch!

Later in the evening, he went in for round 2. Filling a large bowl to the rim, I caught him leaning over the counter, face first, slurping broth and noodles straight from the dish. He danced around the kitchen, grinning from ear to ear and rubbing his tummy. (This is not an exaggerated description for effect. I almost took video for proof.) Then he dove in with a spoon AND a fork, devouring the soup.

It was actually quite amusing how much he truly enjoyed his creation. For as simple as it was, I agree that it was quite delicious. And that says a lot coming from a mostly vegetarian!

Recipe: Mark’s Basic Chicken Noodle Soup***This is made with leftovers from a roasted chicken w/vegetables. Measurements and times are a best guess and can be adjusted however you prefer.***
Stock:
Chicken neck/carcass/leftover bones
Leftover cooked Carrots , Celery, Potatoes, Onions
Water
Soup fillers:
Cooked chicken, chopped into bite sized pieces
~ 3 Raw Carrots & Potatoes
1 Package Egg Noodles
Salt & Pepper to taste

To make stock, cover the leftover bones and roasted vegetables with water, about 2 inches above solids. Cook down and simmer for 30-60 minutes. Strain out solids and put broth back in the pot. Add desired fresh vegetables to broth until vegetables are tender, 20-30 minutes. Add leftover cooked meat and noodles. Cook for 5 more minutes, or until noodles are al dente. Season with salt & pepper. Pile in a bowl and slurp immediately!

Leave a Reply

