meatless monday: the goose is getting fat…

Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat, please put a penny in the old man’s hat.

That jingle has been stuck in my head ALL day, except in my mind it goes a little something like this:

The holidays are coming, I’m already getting fat, time to watch my calories and that is THAT!

Its that time of year when I start to panic about gaining weight. The holidays are just around the corner; casseroles and gravy and pies, oh my! I never slimmed down this summer so my natural ebb and flow of pounds on and pounds off is in serious danger.

I noticed that I gained a little weight this past month. Its just enough to make my clothes feel slightly uncomfortable. Which makes me plain ol’ uncomfortable in general. That means…bum, bum, bum…time to start counting calories again. Ugh.

I’ll still pass along some delicious decadent vegetarian food recipes on Meatless Mondays. But today, in honor of my reinstated accountability, let’s go for a healthy, filling, high fiber/low-calorie comfort meal.

Recipe: Moroccan Vegetable Tagine

2 cups couscous (or sub quinoa/rice/etc)
1 pound cubed tofu
1 diced onion
1 cup sliced carrots
1 cup sliced celery
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1 clove garlic finely diced
Optional additions: 1 cup cubed butternut squash, potatoes, cauliflower, spinach etc
1 Tbs olive oil
1 can vegetable broth
1 cup water (add more as needed to thin)
1 can chickpeas
1 can tomato paste
1/2 cup raisins (or other dried fruit)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (or any nut)
3 tsp curry powder
2 tsp coriander
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cayenne
1 tsp paprika
salt to taste
pinch of sugar

In a dutch oven or deep pan, brown the tofu in 1/2 Tbs oil for 5 minutes. Add the onion, carrots, celery, mushrooms, garlic,and any other desired vegetables and remaining oil, saute for 5 minutes. Add about ¼ of the broth and simmer for another 5 minutes, softening the vegetables. Add remaining ingredients, bring to boil, cover and simmer for 30-40 minutes until vegetables are tender, stirring often. Add additional water if needed to continue simmering or to thin out. It should be the consistency of a thick stew but not too pasty.

Prepare couscous, rice, or quinoa as package instructs. Serve vegetable mixture over steaming couscous (or quinoa/rice).

Leave a Reply

