meatless mondays: soup-aholic…

Oh soup, you lazy, delicious filling dish! I think I might be a soup-aholic. I just have to make a batch every week, if not two. I enjoy it as an appetizer with my dinner or with a salad for my lunches during the week.

My soup cooking ritual is like my Sunday Therapy. I add a dash of this and a splash of that until the flavors mingle just right. I hang out in my kitchen listening to music, chopping vegetables, and simmering a big pot of goodness to eat through out the week.

Because of the sheer volume of soup consumed in our home during the winter, I have to spice it up a little, literally and figuratively. I try to vary it greatly from week to week. I move from a creamy comfort soup to a bean soup to a tomato based soup to a spicy soup. Sometimes I just look in the fridge and see what vegetables need to be eaten and make something up. My husband prefers soup with soul, aka meat or chicken broth. I prefer a vegetarian soup, especially for Meatless Mondays!

This week, I had a hankering for some Hot & Sour Soup. There are several variations for this particular soup, depending on your preferences. I served it with a Vegetable Curry and a Mango and Pomegranate salad.


Recipe: Hot & Sour Soup

1 lb Mushrooms-you can use a combination of any sliced portobello, shitake, button, crimini (fresh, dried, or canned)
1 lb Tofu-in cubes or matchstick slices
1 container or can of bamboo shoots
1 Tbs Sriracha, thai hot sauce, or a small sliced hot pepper
~ 2 cups vegetable broth
~ 2 cups water
2 Tbs soy sauce
3 Tbs rice (or white) vinegar
3 Tbs cornstarch (optional)
1 cup peas (preferably frozen)
1 egg, beaten (optional)
2 green onions (optional)
salt & pepper to taste
1 tsp sesame oil to garnish

Bring broth and water to a boil. Add mushrooms, tofu, and bamboo shoots. Simmer for about 5 minutes.

In a separate bowl, mix soy sauce, vinegar, hot sauce, and cornstarch. Add to simmering broth and bring mixture back to a boil. Add peas and/or chopped green onions. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with a dash of sesame oil.

Options: For extra protein, stream a beaten egg into the boiling mix creating ribbons of egg, similar to an egg drop soup.

Leave a Reply

