meatless mondays: happy new year…

Happy New Year! Like a majority of the population, I have made my New Year’s resolution to lose weight. But unlike said majority, I am going to succeed! I’ve enlisted an old friend to help me: Weight Watchers. I even got a jump start on my resolution and joined last week. That’s right folks, I’m counting points!

For the next few weeks, I’ll try to include the “PointsPlus” values with my meatless monday recipes. Other than that, we’ll stick to business as usual. I’m not here to complain about how much weight I’ve gained. I’m here to live my life to the fullest and write about my positive experiences! Hopefully getting my weight under control will help me to live an even better life.

Besides my health related resolutions, I’ve also resolved to be less judgemental and be more accepting of other people in whatever situations they find themselves in. Not only will this be beneficial to those around me (so that I am not complaining to or about them) but it will also allow me to spend less energy on things that don’t directly affect me. I’m calling it my “Zen Resolution”. Live and let live, if you will.

Best wishes to you in the new year! Feel free to share your resolutions with me in the comment section.

Please enjoy the following high fiber, low calorie, vegetarian delight from Vegetarian Times:

Recipe: Lucky Lentil Dal

2 Tbs canola oil
3 tsp whole cumin seeds
2 tsp red pepper flakes (reduce by half for a less spicy dish)
1 medium onion, diced (1 1/2 cups)
2 cloves garlic, minced (2 tsp)
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups yellow lentils, sorted and rinsed
2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
1 tsp ground turmeric

Heat oil in saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir in cumin and red pepper flakes, and sauté 1 minute. Add onion, garlic, and salt, and sauté 1 minute more.

Add lentils, vegetable broth, 2 cups water, and turmeric. Cover, reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer 25 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.

PointsPlus Value: 4 points for 3/4 cup
You can eat this like a soup or serve over rice or with naan bread.

Leave a Reply

