meatless mondays: fresh from the farmer’s market…

Only one more day until the official start of SUMMER!  I started celebrating early this weekend, despite the rain and gloomy weather.  In the morning moments of sunshine, I headed out to my favorite farmer’s market.  If it isn’t going to act like summer outside, then I can at least pretend by shopping and eating like its already summer.

My best friend in NYC was out and about in her warm, sunny city (I’m jealous) and was inspired to make gazpacho.  She asked me to send her my recipe, which made me realize that I had yet to share it here.  It also planted the seed and made me crave it,  so I mixed up my first batch of the season!  On Sunday morning, I set out to collect my ingredients.

I must admit, I was a little disappointed with the early summer market pickings.  I got what I could and stopped by my food co-op to supplement where necessary. This recipe will turn out even more delightful once the heirloom tomatoes start to ripen.  I was lucky enough to get a few from a greenhouse farmer.   Here is my market bounty and what I made with it:

 

 

Recipe:  Mango Gazpacho

3-5 large tomatoes (preferably a variety)
2-3 mangoes (peeled and cored)
1 cucumber
1 red pepper
1 small red onion
1/2 cup chopped cilantro
1/4 cup chopped parsley
1/2 jalapeno, seeds removed (or more if you like it spicy)
2 garlic cloves
juice from 1/2 lemon (more to taste)
1 tablespoon vinegar (balsamic, rice, apple, or white)
salt and pepper to taste

Optional:
tomato juice or water to thin
sriracha or other hot sauce for extra spice
watermelon, green onion, carrots, or any other fruit/veggie that sounds good

Finely dice ingredients and mix in a bowl. If you like it soupy/saucy, you can take half of the vegetables (before all of your hard dicing work) and puree them in a blender or food processor.

Serve cold.
Top with a good balsamic, truffle oil, or just eat it up!
Hint:  It tastes better if you make it ahead of time and let it mingle.

Leave a Reply

